Ombre Cambie

I thought I’d break up the By Hand London love in that’s going on around here with a return to our favourite Canadian designer!  This is my second version of the Cambie and this time I chose to use the A-line skirt as gathers on my waist aren’t my favourite thing!

I made this dress for a party with a BBC theme – which is about as broad a remit as you can get!  I decided to go with Star Trek as I used to spend every Tuesday evening sat on the floor in the lounge, eating dinner with my Dad watching The Next Generation on BBC2.

Make it Sew

Captain Jean-Luc Piccard was and is one of my heroes!  And when I saw the above it was just perfection.

But back to the dress!  As I mentioned, it’s Sewaholic’s Cambie with the A-Line skirt.  Bodice wise it is identical to the first version; usual FBA and sway back adjustments.  The skirt is as Tasia drafted.  It all went together beautifully.

Startrek Cambie

I had a lot of fun turning the plain Enterprise printed fabric (from Plush Addict) into the gorgeous Ombre you see!  I did a bit of Google research (seriously, doesn’t all research start there?!) and used this tutorial to dye the dress.  Because I wanted the Ombre fading down the dress I made the dress shell first and then dyed it in a mix of Navy and Amethyst Dylon dye with the shoulders staying in the longest.  That was fun and messy!  But as I made this dress back in June (I did warn you I was way behind on blogging my makes!) I played with the dye outside.

It’s not a perfect job, there are some bright pink spots where I didn’t quite mix the powder properly into the water before dunking the dress, but I kinda like the odd bright pink spots dotted across it.

Cambie Dots

 

I then finished the construction with the bodice lining etc as per Tasia’s instructions.

Just to finish off the outfit, I bought a communicator style brooch from eBay and wore that on the dress as well (Not a TNG one though too much ££!  It’s the style in the recent films which I loved!).  I got so many comments on the dress and I can also wear it as day wear.  In fact I’m wearing it today, along with my Victoria Blazer whose lining coordinates beautifully with those bright pink spots!

27 thoughts on “Ombre Cambie

  1. MAKE IT SO! I love this a rdiculous amount. I showed it to Nic and he immediately started looking for Star Trek fabric so there may very well be a Star Trek dress in my future too. Nice work on the Ombre, it really looks wonderful.

  2. This is just totally amazing, I love it! I keep meaning to try dying but I think I’ll be putting of off until next summer now, it looks like it is the kind of project that needs to be done in the garden. And you chose the perfect pattern as well.

Leave a Reply

