Belcarra Blouse by Sewaholic

Hello my lovelies!  I’m so excited to share with you the Belcarra Blouse by Sewaholic!  Back in February I got an email to ask if I wanted to test the pattern and after doing a little shimmy of joy I sent back a very happy ‘yes please!’ to Tasia.

You’ve seen the Belcarra Blouse quite a bit on the Sewaholic Blog already as Tasia was wearing it to model the Gabriola maxi skirt.  It is such a quick make but has some lovely details that really set it apart from your usual knit T’s.

Belcarra 2

View A is a simple raglan sleeved top with bias cuffs, View B has the cute pleat / tuck details and View C has the little pocket.  Me being me just had to overload my tester version with all the details so I made View B with the addition of the pocket from View C.

There are no darts in this top so it’s quite a loose fit but to accommodate the bewbs I did need to do an FBA (Full Bust Adjustment).  I used the ‘Fit for Real People‘ Method which adds a side dart.  I did consider rotating the dart out but this added more fabric to the front and that’s not a look I’m a fan of.  However, Stitches and Seams has an FBA method that gets rid of the side dart and that extra fabric.  I’m going to give this a go on my next version.

Whilst I love the fabric I made this top from (a japanese slubbed cotton) it is probably a little too stiff for this stort of top – something much more liquid and flowing would give softer lines and would not crease nearly as much as mine does!  As a result of my fabric choice, my version looks far better tucked in than it does left out.  I wear it a lot to work with this Rachel Comey for Vogue 1247 skirt that I made over a year ago which is another wardrobe staple.

Belcarra 1

In the defence of my fabric choice, because of the slubs in the weave it makes it really easy to find the grain line and also makes the bias areas (cuffs and neck binding) a bit more interesting than just a change in direction of the print.  You could have a lot of fun with stripe placement on this top!

This is a really satisfying and fast make.  It has the potential to be a wardrobe staple depending on your fabric choice and it wouldn’t surprise me to see people with multiples of these in their wardrobes.  I have a number of future versions planned including one with lace sleeves (omitting the pleats and cuff) as I think that will look really cute with a solid coloured bodice.  I have a couple of other drapy fabrics in the collection that are destined for this top now too, particularly as it’s not too fabric hungry – mine came out of less than 2 yards of 44″ fabric.

Who knew that something as simple as a T could be made so interesting?!  Thank you for the experience of pattern testing for you Tasia, I loved every second of it.

22 thoughts on “Belcarra Blouse by Sewaholic

  1. I really love the simplicity of this top… think I really ‘need’ it… don’t you dear enabler?
    Great job – looking forward to seeing the next ten or more…

  2. After seeing this lovely version I went ahead and ordered the pattern for myself! I think have have just the skirt pattern to go with it . . . (*ahem, Gabriola*). I can’t wait to see your future versions as I think this pattern has so much potential for fun alterations.

  3. This is really cute on you! I hadn’t really considered this pattern before seeing yours, but it looks super wearable! Love the skirt, too! I’ve had the pattern for ages but just can’t seem to find the time to sew it up, but you’re making me really want to do it!

  4. Lucky you getting to pattern test!! :D It looks wonderful!! I’m so glad you tested this pattern too, because while I was attracted to it when it came out, I was afraid the lack of shaping/bust darts would not be suitable for a bustier figure, and sometimes when you add darts to dart-less silhouettes it doesn’t really work, amirite? LOL. Looks like it’s a winner after all, so yay! I love the little details – your pintucks are just awesome! :)

    • Secret sewing when pattern testing is so much fun! I was hesitant to put my hand up for this one for the same reasons as you but I’m so glad I did. It’s one of the major USPs that Indie pattern cos have – their testing regime is also publicity and helps people get beyond artwork and line drawings!

  5. I love that fabric!! I think it looks good in this pattern, which is really drawing me in despite my recent vow that I’m not to buy any more simple blouse patterns. I don’t have one with raglan sleeves yet!

  6. I had been thinking about buying this pattern …… Saw your version and ordered it, I have got some lime green eyelet fabric that I think will look great.

Leave a Reply

