Ginger Sew-a-Long by A Fashionable Stitch

Squeeeeeee!

I’m so excited!  I’m joining Sunni’s sewalong for the Colette pattern Ginger!  This is a gorgeous skirt and I really can’t wait to make a start on May 16.

I’ve ordered the pattern from Colette (and the Violet pattern) which will be on their way soon,  Sunni had even organised a 20% discount on the Ginger pattern which is extra brilliant.

I think I’ll be doing the pointy waist band as in this version here – there’s also a heart shaped one which is a bit too girly for me?

Ginger Skirt by Colette Patterns

The model is wearing the Violet shirt and whilst I love the peter pan collar, I’m not going a bomb on the gathered sleeves at the elbow.  I much prefer this short sleeve version…

Violet by Colette Patterns with short sleeves

I’m not sure what I’ll be making the skirt from yet.  The pattern details suggest “Medium weight fabrics such as poplin, twill, silk, dupioni, wool challis, gabardine, suiting, crepe.”  So, first off I need to find out some more about these fabrics!

I’d like to make this primarily for work so I don’t think I’ll be going too colourful?  It involves an invisible zipper so I may need to investigate an invisible zipper foot for my machine too.

I am really, really looking forward to this!

Leave a Reply

