Ginger Catch Up

Rutland Water on a Very Windy Day

We had a pretty good break in Rutland with cycling and exploring.  Plus a few mishaps!  I lost a contact lens so my sight wasn’t great as I’d forgotten to pack my glasses, even though I’d put them out and it was a tad windy.  OK, very windy and there were concerns about the awning blowing away or getting ripped.  It was so windy that it ripped the door of the Land Rover out of my husband’s hand so that now needs repairing and means it doesn’t shut easily.  Plus some family drama that kicked off at about 8pm last night, and is still rumbling…  But it was good to get away, honest!

Now that we’re home, apart from unpacking and the usual washing and sorting that goes on, I’ve been playing catch up with all of Sunni’s Ginger sewalong posts.  I thought there’d be three or four as I’d only miss two days of the sewalong.  How wrong am I?!  Sunni has been providing so much information it’s un-real.  So catch-up has been a bit of an undertaking.  And I’m not fully caught up yet.

So, following Sunni’s posts, here’s what’s on the to-do list:

Picking the size of the Ginger that I’m going to sew.  This isn’t as straight forward as I’d like it to be.  My hip measurement falls within the size chart.  My waist measurement definitely doesn’t, in part because I’m overweight (although working  on it) and in part because my stomach will never be the same post baby.  Sounds like an excuse, but also a fact of life.  In full disclosure, my waist (which is somewhere between my ribs and hips, but pretty indeterminable) is 46″ and my hips are a whole 1″ bigger at 47″.  From the back of the pattern you can see that my hips are an 18 which is 48″ and my waist aint even on the chart.  The 18 waist is 38″.  One day it will be though.

So once I’d had a mope and felt sorry for myself then hacked off about it, I traced the pattern so that I can keep the original intact.  I then slashed and spread all the pieces as I’m going to need to add 2 1/2″ to each of the 4 skirt panels to equal 10″.  I did the same to the waist band pieces.  This makes the waist OK, but has blown the hip by the same amount.  So I’ll need to cut the waist at the size 18 lines and grade to the hip of a size 6 on my new slashed pieces.

This is probably making absolutely no sense at the  moment!

Then there is the whole what length to make the skirt issue.  I want it to hit mid-knee, so I might have to shorten it.  I think about 21″ will be about right which is the size 0 cutting line…  Anyway, my height isn’t going to change, but when the rest of me does I can just dismantle the skirt and re-cut the pieces to make it fit.  See, I have a plan…

Sunni then did a really helpful post about the colour of the zip and thread and how important that choice is.  I had to go for a lighter coloured invisible zip as the next shade was brown.  Having looked at her examples though I’m really not sure and think I may be getting another zip that’s a better match…  Or at least darker!

So, now I’ve actually cut the traced and altered pattern out it’s time to make up a muslin to see if these changes actually work out!  That’s my plan for tomorrow evening as it’s getting late already.

Sunni’s done a post on cutting bias stripes (something for later down the line I think, I can’t find a stripe I like at the moment…)  Then it’ll be on to cutting out my fabric for the real deal skirt!

Tomorrow, according to the time-table, it’s invisible zipper time!  I’ll be able to practice on my muslin which is good.  Using the zip that’s the wrong colour!  Thursday is Gertie’s guest post (I am so so excited to read that one!) and finishing the waist band then Friday is hemming and final finishing!  We have a bank holiday here next weekend too so if (who am I kidding?!) I’m still playing catch up I should be all done by the end of the weekend!

Leave a Reply

