Ginger Progress

I made a revised muslin, adding only 5/8″ to each piece and that one worked a lot better! Thank goodness. So I’ve now made up my skirt, complete with lining and it just needs hemming.

I’m a little behind , as the show and tell party started yesterday, but it’ll be done by Sunday – I promise!

Hemming:   Sunni mentioned her little gadget for marking the hem, as well as an alternative method in her hemming sewalong post last week.  She linked to her original post about it and I had a little read. Then got a case of vintage-notion-want-it-isis.  So I had a mooch on eBay, both here in the UK and the US, but no joy. I wanted a pin marker, and not chalk. There were no pin markers in the UK and the ones in the US weren’t really what I was looking for. Plus there were loads of them so if necessary I could go back.

So I thought I’d put “Singer pin marker” into Google. Not a lot of joy so I trundled onto page two of the results and came across a link to an online retailer of collectables in the US who had one. So for $14.99 and $22.89 for the shipping or £23.63 total I will be the proud owner of a Singer Skirt Marker.

It’s going to come in the original box which has the instructions on the back and has the pin cushion. It’s described as having a worn box but the marker is in excellent, new like condition. Yay!

This one only goes up to 20”, unlike Sunni’s that goes to 28” but I figure I could always get another yard rule and use it with the base to mark a higher hem if I need to. And let’s be honest, my hems aren’t going to go above my knee which is (having just measured my lower leg) about 17” from the floor in ballet pumps. There is/was a mini-max version on Etsy but the pin cushion base looked well abused, and it was the same price, so I’ve gone for this one.  Only problem is that it will take a couple of weeks to get to me, so way too late to Ginger mk1.

So tonight I’ll use the rule-on-the-wall method Sunni posted. I hope to pin the hem before I go to see Spirit of the Dance at the Theatre Royal in Norwich!

One thought on “Ginger Progress

Leave a Reply

