Two Finished Objects

Well, I’ve finished two items of clothing now!  My Ginger skirt and the free Colette pattern Sorbeto.

Sorbetto & Ginger

So, Sorbeto first:

The Facts

Fabric: white cotton lawn printed with pink rosebuds found on eBay
Pattern: Colette Sorbeto (2011) with pleat inverted
Notions: Thread and self bias tape
Time to complete: 2hrs including making the bias tape
First worn: 5 June 2011
Wear Again: Yes
Total cost: £6.50

Things I like
It’s a really pretty top and it fits with no adjustment over my ridiculous chest.  It was also very simple to make and uses less fabric than Colette lists.

Things I’d change 
Not a lot really!  I’d sew the pleat down for 2″ rather than the 4″ I did on this version, and I’d also flip all the bias to the right side at the neck rather than the 1/2 width I did – I was finishing it late at night and I misread the instructions!  My fault entirely and not Colette’s instructions which, as ever, are very clear!

And now, Ginger:

The Facts

Fabric: dusky rose, white polka dot 100% cotton, with dusky rose lining
Pattern: Colette Ginger (2011) view A
Notions: 9″ invisible zipper, thread, fusible interfacing
Time to complete: I have no idea as it was done in bits and pieces all over the place!  No more than 4 hours though.
First worn: 11 June 2011
Wear Again: Jury’s out
Total cost: £20

the facing and lining of my Ginger

Things I like
I love the colour and print of the fabric, and that I mad the effort to line it.  I’m also really pleased with the zip insertion and the french seams on the lining.  Also the neatness of the facing and lining inside.

Things I’d change
In all honesty, nothing about the pattern.  Next time I’ll sew the lining to the waistband facing and hand stitch the lining to the zipper tape.  I also need to come up with a better way of hemming the lining, because this one is very rough and ready!

Leave a Reply

