All the way from Canada!

Ooh, don't you just love post that isn't boring and gets your creativity going?

Looky looky what arrived today!  And it was only shipped on the 9th so arrived in exactly a week.  How good is that?

I’ve had a read of the Lonsdale pattern instructions and now fully understand how the front works.  I’d made it far far far more complicated in my head than it really is.  I’ll need to do a bit of grading of the pattern to get it to fit my current, but reducing, figure and this takes me a while but as the pattern pieces are so simple, it shouldn’t be too onerous.  I’m very interested to see what Tasia has come up with in the way of an FBA for this design as there’s not a lot of shaping in the bodice…  Think the bodice will deff need a muslin made as a test run.

I think I’ll use a vintage sheet for the dress if there’s enough fabric.  I’ve got the white side of a double duvet cover with large chrysanthemum type flowers printed in outline on it in shades of blue and pale beige and another which is white with turquoise flowers all over it.

In other sewing related news I’ve graded my Pendrell, done the FBA (ie added 2 1/2″ at the princess seam line – eek!), altered the neckline to be more of a V as that’s more flattering for me, done a ton of tissue fitting, retraced and cut the pattern pieces and have actually gone near some fabric!  It’s cut out, I just need to actually do some sewing…

I’m just going to make the shell to begin with (using the blue side of the chrysanthemum duvet cover) as a sort of wearable muslin – I’m intending to wear it, but if it’s a total disaster I haven’t wasted my gorgeous butterfly fabric.

Leave a Reply

