Supplies, Supplies, Supplies

Oh happiness!  My circle skirt fabric arrived today and it doesn’t feel scratchy or itchy and drapes beautifully.

I also did a stupid brave thing today.  I went and bought the zipper and thread without the fabric.  I guessed which tone I needed.  And I got it right!!  Hurrah for me!  I also purchased some grosgrain ribbon in turquoise (I have no idea whether we’ll be able to see it on the finished skirt, but as it was the same price as the brown, why not?!).  It matches the turquoise in the skirt perfectly.

I also bought some horsehair braid.  It’s much stiffer and springier than I thought it would be.  It was also more expensive at my bricks and mortar cloth store than if I’d bought it on eBay (as in four times the price!) but it does have the thread for putting the curve in and seems thicker. I’m also supporting a store that is really helpful and answers all sorts of questions for me, as well as stocking a great line of fabrics as well as all the other bits and bobs I could need.

My final purchases were some pins and a cardboard pattern cutting board with all the grids etc on.  Finally I can pin pattern pieces down whilst I do the inevitable FBA!  I can’t wait for the next post for the CSSA.  I’m really looking forward to it!

Tonight however I plan to interface and sew the waistband of crescent skirt mk1, and maybe even get the topstitching done on it.

One thought on “Supplies, Supplies, Supplies

Leave a Reply

