New Project, New Needle. But…

I started a new project yesterday – another Crescent skirt in a beautiful oriental style print.

This fabric in fact! Click to visit the lovely Etsy shop I got it from...

So new project, new needle.  Out came the old one and onto my magnetic pin dish.  And then I wondered what the safest way to get rid of it was.  Hypodermic needles go into sharps boxes at the surgery or the hospital.  But what about sewing needles?  In landfill their is real potential to do some damage to either workers or wildlife.  Our recycling is sorted by hand in a  big warehouse with conveyor belts, so opportunity for injury there too.  I can’t come up with a satisfactory answer!

So, I thought I’d ask you what you do with your used sewing needles, hand and machine.  And the pins that are dull or a bit corroded.  Do you just lob them in the bin, or do something else with them?  Or, am I just over thinking this?!

EDIT:

I’ve done some more thinking and research around this.  The common interweb consensus seems to be to put them into an old film canister or tictac box or similar and then seal it up and just lob it into the rubbish bin.  Now, I can see how that helps with the whole ‘sharp and pointy things poking people’ bit whilst the box is intact, but I’m still not convinced that’s the best way.  So, to make my local council’s waste disposal teams day, I’ve emailed them to ask what they’d recommend!  The auto-response says they may take 10 working days to come back to me, so it may take a while to get an answer, but when I do I’ll share!

3 thoughts on “New Project, New Needle. But…

  1. S’funny you posted about this! In my pattern making course (I went to my 4th class last night) held at a college – in the room next to the machines they did have the yellow ‘sharps’ boxes that you customarily see in laboratories or hospitals!

    So, I wonder if the college then sends the used/broken needles off for recycling (I presume they’re made from steel?) or if they get sent off to be incinerated – which is what I suppose happens to hypodermic needles in hospitals because of the risk of infection and disease?

Leave a Reply

