Rambling, or Planning? 100 Posts and a Giveaway!

Have you seen the new pattern from Sewaholic?  It’s a cute but practical zip up jacket called the Minoru.

The Minoru Jacket from Sewaholic. Click on the Pic to read more on Tasia's blog...

I have plans to make one (especially as I know I’m getting the pattern for my birthday later this month) so have been having a bit of a think.  I plan on using a cotton twill or drill and then adding some water resistance using NikWax.  I use it very successfully (or another of their products) to re-proof ski wear and my husband’s gore-tex coat.  As it’s a wash-in proofer, I’ll use it on the pre-wash of the fabric I think…

But the fabric!  I have to admit I’m thinking of going a bit bonkers with this!  Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

Leopard Twill
Houndstooth Twill
Solid Teal Twill, Shade 232

So, two quite loud choices, and one that’s less ‘look at me’!  As Tasia seems to be planning the sew-along for January I’ve got plenty of time to ponder what I’m going to do…

I’ve also been doing some pattern alteration.  Namely altering Sorbetto to have a cowl neck line.  I’ve only frankensteined the pattern so far.  I was going to make it tonight but I’ve realised that I haven’t pre-washed the cotton knit I was going to use so it’ll have to wait until the weekend.  Instead I’ll make some progress on my Beignet muslin I think.  I’ve re-adjusted the pattern and deconstructed the first muslin; I just need to add the stitching lines and then baste it together.

And as this is my 100th Blog Post I thought I’d do my first giveaway…

Leave a comment telling me what you’re favourite sewing pattern is and one lucky commenter will receive their very own Minoru pattern!

The giveaway is open until midnight (GMT) on Sunday 6 November 2011 and you will need to include your email so that I can contact you to get your address.  This is open to everyone, where ever you are – as long as you have a postal address, you can join in!

11 thoughts on “Rambling, or Planning? 100 Posts and a Giveaway!

  1. So nice of you!
    My fave pattern is the Sewaholic Pendrell. I’ve made it 3 times and wear them every week.
    I like solid coloured jackets since they go better with print skirts. Otherwise it’s clashy. Of course if you plan to wear it with jeans or solid coloured trousers you should go for the houndstooth!

  2. Excellent giveaway! I think my favourite sewing pattern is probably the Colette Rooibos – I have made four! I’ve only made one Sewaholic garment – the Lonsdale dress – but I think Tasia is a fantastic designer, so I’d love to win the Minoru pattern 🙂

  3. I vote for the houndstooth twill for your Minoru. My favourite sewing pattern is the Pendrell blouse, also by Tasia. This is a great giveaway – thanks for the chance!

  4. I love the colette beignet but for the life of me can’t actually finish one. My first used too heavy fabric and my second too light, the plan is to try again this weekend, fingers crossed. Loving the cotton twills you’ve found x

  5. I’ve never made any jacket/coat before so my suggestion would be not too useful. Plus, coming from a tropical country, I would say those two articles would be impractical – especially when I have this weird liking for a red woolen coat.

    On the other hand, my favourite pattern would be a 1950’s inspired dress, you know, the tight bodice and gathered skirt. Or even better, a circle skirt. I’d wear them happily without any care in the world. Perhaps that is why I kept entertaining the thought of many another 1950’s inspired dress.

  6. I think my favourite pattern is the Lady Grey coat by Colette Patterns- yet to be finished, but want to make it professional-looking with pad stitching etc! I would love to win this pattern- I really need a raincoat and can never find nice ones in the shops.

  7. What a fantastic giveaway! Hmmm my favourite pattern…this is a tricky one. I think perhaps the Sewaholic Lonsdale Dress…so easy to make but such a fantastic result!

  8. Great giveaway! I like the teal drill myself 🙂
    My favourite pattern is also the Colette Lady Grey – I just finished my second make of it and love all the little hand-stitched details you can add.

Leave a Reply

