Twelve Buttonholes…

Image from Colette Patterns

Can you tell that I’m at THAT stage of my Beignet?!

I’ve muslined / toiled and adjusted fit.  I’ve pre washed and cut fabric.  I’ve sewn, pressed, clipped, notched and finished seams.  I’ve cut and sewn (then re-cut and sewn again part of) the lining and hemmed it.  I’ve interfaced and sewn the facing.  I’ve attached lining to facing round very curvy seam lines, with the aid of hand basting, clipping and notching.  I’ve even sewn the facing and lining combo to the shell of the skirt.

And now I’m looking at twelve, TWELVE! button holes which will take front and centre stage on this skirt.  And suddenly I’m a little bit scared…

So, I’m going to do a load of test runs to make sure my machine is set up perfectly.  Then I’m going to measure and mark, and measure to check and then check again just in case…  Then I’ll have to commit and go for it.  I think I’ll still be a little bit scared though.

Anyone got any tips on buttonholes?  Particularly on corduroy…

9 thoughts on “Twelve Buttonholes…

  1. If it was me…I would be using up all my scraps practising until I could do them in my sleep!!! This certainly is a challenge for you – 12 identical buttonholes directly down the front – no pressure!!!
    A few sites that may help…

    http://scpbanks.blogspot.com/2011/09/advance-7931-navy-corduroy-dress_08.html

    http://sewing.patternreview.com/SewingDiscussions/topic/16751

    http://www.skovdesymaskiner.se/images/pdf/pfoot/Buttonholes_for_Velbet_or_Leather.pdf

    http://kestrelfindsandmakes.blogspot.com/2011/04/finished-beignet-in-cord-piping-how-to.html

    Good luck and fingers crossed – looking forward to seeing the finished skirt.

  2. Can’t wait to see how it goes. I felt very nervous when I started the buttonholes on my husband’s Negroni. One buttonhole came out a bit weird but I finished it off by hand. So that’s something to keep in mind if one comes out wonky by chance. But I hope it all goes smoothly.

  3. I agree with Funnygrrl above – take your time.
    Also, I reckon start with the lowest/bottom buttonhole – and by the time you do the last one at the top (where you’ll notice it the most + it’s closer to eye level for anyone looking at it in real life) you’ll be really good at them, i.e. the last one should by then be the best of the bunch 🙂

    Also – be really careful when cutting the buttonholes open (so you don’t cut through the bar-tacks on the ends) –
    see tips here and
    here

    1. Thanks for the links! I’ll have to go and do some research to bolster the confidence. Starting at the bottom is a good idea too, and not something that had occurred to me!

  4. I wish I had some tips on buttonholes! They are my worst enemy yet. I’m sure you’ll do fine though, really excited to see your Beignet!

Leave a Reply

