I’ve got a bit head, or something?!

The great snood epidemic has struck me!  They’ve been popping up all over blog-land and Karen is the culprit, not that she seems to mind in the slightest!

Snoods as Inspired by Karen. Different fits though!

I have to confess that they look so warm and snuggly that I thought I’d grab a bit of the snood action, so whilst we were away this weekend (yup, that’s why its been so quiet around here…) I knit a brace of them up.  One in purple (mkI) and one in a dark tweed type purple (mkII).  I have a plain dark purple and teal (of course!) queuing for the needles too.

I forgot my big eye needle so only got round to stitching the first one up tonight and it will only go over my head with some assertive yanking.  I’ve compared my finished items measurements to those on the original pattern and they match, so I guess my cast off doesn’t have the required amount of give in it to allow it to stretch over my noggin.

I can’t get a decent picture at the moment so I’ll try and get one tomorrow.  Self timer, 10:30 at night and a busy weekend do not make for a glamorous reasonable photo shoot!

So  I think I will make a faux button placket by picking up some stitches along the edge and knitting some extra head room that way.  I can then also add some buttons!

It’ll mean un-stitching the mattress stitch on mkI but I’d rather have something that is actually wearable!  It’ll be a gift for one of my sisters but I’d prefer that she can get it over her head!  With the two in the que I’ll just cast on an extra 10 stitches or so!

3 thoughts on “I’ve got a bit head, or something?!

  1. So great to know that you knit too! Do you have a ravlery account? I have been meaning to knit up a cowl/snood this winter. It would have been great to have one at work today as it was so cold, I wore my coat all day. Can’t wait to see yours in those beautiful colors.

Leave a Reply

