A little bit of Christmas

A little bit of Christmas craftiness has been happening here, honest!  Isn’t it amazing how time just disappears at this time of year?  I don’t know if it’s because Christmas is at a weekend but it really seems to have crept up on me.  I thought I had loads of time and then earlier this week realised I had a week and a half!

Last weekend we went and cut our tree and decorated it.  I love having a real tree in the house.  We go for one with soft needles – less painful to decorate and they don’t seem to drop either, which is a major bonus!

The other bonus is that the wreath up at the top, on our front door, is also made from the tree.  The only thing I bought was the oasis ring that it’s all mounted on.  I used one of those ones where the Oasis is in a plastic ring.  I think it’s supposed to be used as a table centre piece, but with the addition of some ribbon so that it can be hung, it’s perfect for a door wreath.

The greenery is from the bits we trimmed off the tree, the baubles are spare ones that didn’t get used this year and the glittery flowers were in my christmas decoration stash, as was the sparkly gold ribbon.  It’s quite simple but the abundance foliage also makes it look quite luxuriant, I think!  And for the princely sum of about £4 it’s an absolute bargain as I’ve seen others in the shops (not as nice as this, blowing my own trumpet!) that were five times the price!

I’ve also finished the two snoods that are intended for my sisters (not that I’ve got around to photographing them yet…) and I’ve managed to cut and sew the darts and tucks on my Sencha.  I used tailor’s tacks for the first time to try and ensure accuracy and they worked pretty well.  The biggest thing I learnt though is to leave a lot longer tails as some of the tufts ended up a little stumpy, but they did get the job done!

I would love to say that I’ll get another post up before Christmas, but I suspect the crazy level is only likely to get higher around here over the next few days so…

Wishing you all a happy, joyful and peaceful Christmas.  I hope to see you before the new year!

2 thoughts on “A little bit of Christmas

  1. Oh, it’s wonderful getting all of the festive things done for Christmas. I think the holidays approach much faster once we are adults. Instead of being a child waiting for the magic of Christmas with Santa and presents – we are busy getting the house ready, planning meals, sending out cards, shopping . . . the list goes on! Don’t worry about putting up another blog post between now and Christmas – enjoy the meaning of Christmas and spending time with loved ones. Merry Christmas Vicki.

  2. Let’s all hope poor ‘ol Santa isn’t feeling in the same boat as the rest of us this year, with less than a week to go till the big day!!!
    Merry Christmas from Down Under – catch up in the New Year…

Leave a Reply

