Hello, 2012! I have a few plans…

Good morning everyone, welcome to a new year!  It’s about 10 and a half hours old for me, but the first day is drawing to a close down under…

I’ve been reading all the blog posts that others have put up with their plans for 2012 and it makes for fascinating and thought provoking reading.  Some are quite planned or challenging, others are more of a wing-it variety!

I have to admit that I’ve been thinking about what I’d like to achieve over the next twelve months and there are a few things to aim for:

Sew at least one garment a month.  I am no where near a sew a whole garment a week girl, the time management side of things eludes me!  Never mind 58 in a year!  How amazing is Debi?!  Certainly to begin with I need to focus on tops…

Complete a couple of ‘project’ items.  The first of which will be the Minoru Jacket by Sewaholic.  The sew along starts a fortnight tomorrow!  I’d also like to make the Lady Grey for next winter, following Gertie’s sew along posts…  Finally there’s a dress for my Brother in Law’s wedding in September.

I have plans to drop a few dress sizes too, but I’m still going to sew, and just adjust as I go.  It’ll keep my fitting skills fresh as I make progress!  It’s strange how something like this seems more daunting than making a tailored coat…

I also intend to keep to my seamless challenge – I haven’t bought a new item of clothing  (other than the permissible tights!) since I took the pledge just before my birthday.

I’d also like to learn to Crochet, but this may be more of an aspiration rather than a plan, my creative time is limited so this may never happen unless I teach myself whilst on holiday as I can’t take my machines with me!

Finally, there’s this here blog!  I hope to post a little more regularly (my Sencha post yesterday was number 125!) and do a few more give aways as I had so much fun hosting the one for my birthday!  I’ll have been blogging for a year in March and it’s found me new friends and opened up a whole new community.  Something that has pushed me to keep sewing and to try new things!

I’d love to know what you’re plans are, whether you’ve got each month planned or are more of a see what life brings kinda outlook!

PS.  I’ve also just enrolled on the Craftsy Block a Month course which is FREE!  Here’s to a quilt at the end of 2012…

12 thoughts on “Hello, 2012! I have a few plans…

  1. Happy New Year! I blogged yesterday about some of my hopes for 2012, but they are more aims/ways to approach sewing rather than definate plans. I too would like to learn to crochet this year. Also, we share the same blogiversary in March 🙂 (and I have written considerably less posts than you, so I don’t think you have to worry!!)

    1. Cool! The same blogiversary! I liked reading your plans – my biggest problem is that I get so inspired by everyone else that my wish list becomes impossible!

      1. Me too! I have a wish list in my head that keeps expanding every time is see something awesome on another blog. I’m so easily distracted! The only solution is to stop reading blogs, which is never going to happen, so I suppose I’ll just have to try and stick to my plans and put new things to the back of my list……..it could happen…!!

  2. Oh wow, thanks for the link to my blog! I hear you on the one garment a month plan – that was sort of an unspoken goal for me last year. I completed 8 sewing items and two knitted sweaters, so hopefully this year I can bump it up an extra few items. It’s wonderful that the on-line sewing community has encouraged you in your sewing, I have found the same with me. I love the sweet words and constant inspiration that keep me going. Can’t wait to see where your sewing will take you this year!

  3. Looks like 2012 is going to be a positive, but busy year for you, whether you continue with your plan or end up winging-it along the way. I’m with Kat on this, there are way too many great things out there to ignore, so they get added to the list. Some just seem to jump up the list faster than others…but the list multiplies sooooo quickly….

    1. Yep. Way too much inspiration out there… It’s hard to know what to make first sometimes, although I must sort out the big top shaped hole in my wardrobe! Although tackling a dress would sort what to wear for the day in its entirety – all I’d have to choose is which shoes, and I don’t have that many pairs – honest!

  4. I’ve tried not to get too carried away with plans for the year- instead I’m taking it a few months at a time. But I agree- reading blogs is so inspiring, but also distracting! Thanks for the link to the block of the month – it looks great, I think I’m going to sign up!
    All the best for 2012!

    1. Thank you and I know what you mean about blogs adding to the to do list! I do love reading them though as I wouldn’t have tried as many new things without them!

  5. Happy New Year Vicki Kate! Your goals for 2012 sound very similar to mine. I’ve come up with a ’12 in 2012′ plan to help me along…and it sounds similar to your plan for last year, trying to make one garment a month. I’m also keen to learnt to crochet too. Oh and patchwork is on my list too, so I’m off to have a look at the Craftsy link…but perhaps I may just make a pillow rather than a whole quilt!!!
    Here’s the link to my 12 in 2012 goals: http://su-sews-so-so.blogspot.com/2011/12/new-year-goals-12-in-2012.html

Leave a Reply

