Give Away and my Final Fashion Sewing For Everyone Post

Happy Leap Day Everybody!

This is my final post in my short series about the Adele P Margolis book; Fashion Sewing for Everyone.  I need to apologise first of all though as the images aren’t as clear as the previous two posts – my scanner has started to make some really hideous noises and refusing to work so I’ve had to photograph the pages I wanted to share with you instead.  This means that the text isn’t quite so clear and the images not so straight.  I hope you still enjoy them though?

As I mentioned last time, the vast majority of my post-its are in the tailoring section.  As I have come to expect, there’s a large amount of information on pressing as this is a hallmark of tailoring.

“On of the hallmarks of fine tailoring is the pressing.  One cannot thing of great tailoring without also thinking of those crisp edges, the flat seams and that subtly blocked-to-shape sculptured form.  As important as pressing is to dressmaking, in tailoring it is raised to a fine art.”

She also describes the ingredients for pressing: Heat, Moisture, Pressure and Protection.

She uses analogies for the heat settings – high heat for vegetable fibres (cotton, linen) as “You can boil vegetables”!  And a moderate heat for the animal fibres (silk, wool) as “Any gal can tell you that moderate heat is a beauty aid – setting your hair, getting a tan – but high heat can scorch hair and skin.”  Erm, I see the point but this is about the only instance (other than some of the illustrations) that date the book – we now understand much more about tanning and its effects.

There’s also a section on pressing aids:

She includes instructions on how to make each of them, and that “others can be made by your father, bother, husband or favourite beau”.  I’ll eventually be shelling out cold hard cash as I have no hope of persuading my husband to make a clapper or point press for me!

She also goes into details on pressing more delicate fabrics.  The section on velvet immediately made me think of Debi at My Happy Sewing Place and the Scarlet O’Hara velvet dress she made.

And finally, for Peter over at Male Pattern Boldness, who has recently undertaken a coat in fake fur for his cousin Cathy,there’s a whole chapter:

There is so much in this book I wish I could share.  As I’ve mentioned previously I’ve found it fascinating reading and it’s helped me out already.  There are tips on lining which I’ll use when finishing off my Minoru.  A chapter on sheers that I’ve already employed in my Taffy Jasmine (which has made no further progress as yet…  The whole sew-life-work-Mother balance is a whole other think!) as well as tons of information on hair canvas, collars, buttons and their placement, seam construction for unlined jackets that will come in useful for future projects!  But I don’t want to bore you all silly with it, or risk infringing copyright.

So as a solution, I’ve bought a second copy of the book!  I’ll happily give it away to one of you lovely readers, anywhere in the world!  All you need to do is:

  • Comment below and if you’d like, let me know your new favourite sewing resource.  Text or web, or some of you may even have a real-life person you can turn to who is always a fount of knowledge?  I’d love to hear about the resources you’ve discovered and that have proven really helpful!
  • By Midnight GMT on Wednesday 14 March 2012

Please make sure that you leave some way that I can contact you if you win so I can find out your shipping address!

Thank you for reading and Good Luck!

25 thoughts on “Give Away and my Final Fashion Sewing For Everyone Post

  1. Heheh what a fabulous giveaway! Sounds both handy and hilarious! I often turn to Colette Patterns tutorials and forums for help – basically any question I have has usually been answered there already. Also Alison Smith’s The Sewing Book is a great reference book at home. Thank you for wonderful giveaway!

  2. ohhhh woooow, i wouild have to say that patternreview.com has been the most helpful. the participants on this site share a wealth of knowledge, info on good books and blogs, other sites too. –needles to say i would love to recieve even more info from this book. the older books carries loads of info. poohsbigsis@yahoo.com

  3. One of my fav techniques involves wrapping a small dowel with batting, then wool and then cotton to use as a pressing aid for small, tight places. I searched for this book after your first review, but aince I’ve been redundant all shopping except for necessities, is off limits. Please toss my name into the hat for this drawing.

  4. I WANT!!! lol!! I finally got my copy of ‘How to Make Clothes that Fit and Flatter’ and i love it so far… I’m an instant fan of Ms. Margolis!! 🙂

    I’m not sure for me what specific resource has been the MOST helpful, but if i had to pick one, I’d say this awesome online sewing community – it’s been a great source of inspiration, motivation and encouragement for me, and there’s always someone who knows the answer to your question when you don’t ^__^

  5. I would love to win this amazing book!
    My most helpful resource(s) has been the online sewing community in general and Colette Patterns’ tips/tutorials.

  6. I’d love this book! I learn so much from the online sewing community – I’m constantly scouting new blogs and forums. One of my favorites, though, is Gerties New Blog for Better Sewing – It’s a great resource for techniques I’m learning to use.

  7. I would have to say that Colette, Gertie, Sewaholic and sewalongs in general have been very valuable to me. My stand by at home faithful guide is my Reader’s Digest Guide to Sewing.

  8. I’d love a copy of this book. I’ve just had to return her Tailoring book to the library having run out of renewals! The style of writing is very readable – I loved how she related sewing to eating – we can either just have a snack/sew something up quickly, or we can prepare and plan a tasty meal/take our time and sew a garment with care and attention to detail.
    I think my most valuable sewing resource is my machine – of course it’s essential, but although it has no frills and fancies I’m, sold on its sound basic features – up/down needle, sliding speed control (fab!) and a special little black button on the side of the foot to cope with very thick seams. Second to that is the inspiration I have gained from the general sewing community.
    Judy

  9. Thanks for the giveaway! My favorite resource these days has to be fellow sewists! Every time I run into an issue and I blog about it, I get so much helpful feedback and advice from you guys (thank you)!

  10. Well I’ve been a huge fan of the on-line sew alongs since I started sewing. Especially Tasia’s and Casey’s (but you already know about those). I’m also super excited about recently discovery Craftsy and I can’t wait to have the time for Gertie’s Sew Retro Starlet Suit course. Thanks again for always hosting such lovely giveaways!

  11. My latest seeing resource is the blogging community. I’ve gotten less shy about sharing my blunders and asking for help. But I always turn to my Fit for Real People book first. If it makes no sense I start asking people questions.

  12. As I’ve been following your posts on this book, I’ve thought to myself many times, what a wonderful resource that would be! Thanks for the chance to win it! My best resource right now is probably the Craftsy courses I’ve been taking. I do also love Patternmaking for Fashion Design. And my mother-in-law. And you bloggers!

  13. Wow, great giveaway! Honestly, my most-used sewing resource is google/youtube, and the tutorials I’ve found on the Coletterie and over at Sunni’s Fashionable Stitch. 😀

  14. Oh, that book sounds fantastic! I’d love to be in the draw, thanks. 🙂 I must admit I don’t really have a go-to resource yet (aside from simple the wide world of the internets) but I’ve recently bought a couple of sewing books so I’m hoping that one of those will work for me. 🙂

    (Also, you won one of the prizes in my Mystery Makes giveaway here: http://macskakat.wordpress.com/2012/02/28/mystery-make-winners/ Can you email me your address and size to macska at gmail dot com? Thanks!

  15. I tried to gather a bibliography of sorts of online resources for sewing, you can see it at my blog. However, I find that my most often sought after resource is my Google Reader and Colette Patterns’ blog. I mark all the blog posts that have information that I’m hoping to use in the future and just mark them for future reference. I love search features. 🙂

  16. I have a giant Singer sewing book that I pull out on occasion, but more and more I just Google the things I need help with!! I also keep tutorials and things ‘starred’ on my Google Reader page.

  17. I’d love a copy of this book. I came across Adele P Margolis in the recommended reading of the Colette Sewing Handbook. I’ve found the Odhams Needlework books a useful reference also Vogue Sewing. Amanda

Leave a Reply

