Teal, Lace and Peony

What do you think of my plans for Colette Patterns’ Peony?

After your feedback when I asked what I should wear as a God Mother in June, a short sleeved Peony was the overwhelming winner.  I love the dark teal cotton sateen that I found at my local fabric store but have yet to buy.  I plan on changing the skirt to a pencil silhouette with a godet at the back edged with venice / guipure ivory lace.  I also want to put an ivory lace appliqué at the neckline.

What I can’t decide on is what to do about the belt.  Do I leave it completely?  Or do I make one in the same colour as the dress, or purple, or aqua or ivory like the lace?  I’m drawn to the purple or aqua at the moment – what do you think?

17 thoughts on “Teal, Lace and Peony

  1. Vicki, I love these plans! This is going to make such a fantastic dress. As for the belt, I am not sold on the purple – usually I like these two colors together, but I think adding the lace is what makes the purple not work for me. I would either go with ivory to match the lace or try to find some teal just a shade darker than the color of your dress. Perhaps you could dye the belt fabric so it is just a bit darker. This would add just enough contrast, plus a darker color at the waist will really help to define it.

    1. I have to admit I’m drawn to the teal belt too, dying it a shade or two darker hadn’t occurred to me! It’s a brilliant idea! I love teal and purple together, but they i know what you mean as they don’t seem quite right in this case… Maybe I’ll have to make a couple of belts and see how they look on?

  2. Oh my! I can’t wait to see this, it sounds lovely!! Especially the back lace godet – marvelous idea! 🙂

    I vote for an ivory belt to match the lace at the hem, because I think purple would be too distracting and teal would just get lost, unless you take Annabelle’s great advice and dye it a tad darker 🙂

  3. The dress is lovely. The fabric is gorgeous.
    I like a matching belt or darker. For me I think a lighter coloured belt makes my waist look thicker. That could be my own body issues of course. 🙂

  4. Your drawings are so beautiful!
    I just found your blog through Alessa from Farbenfreude and I can’t believe we are both using the same theme! It goes without saying that your blog is very pretty 🙂

    1. Thank you! I love the idea of adding a little lace at the back too but didn’t want to go overboard. It seems like a nice detail to add.
      I can’t wait for my lace inserts to arrive and next payday so I can go and get the sateen! I really ought to do a muslin as well, although I think I’ll start that in May as I hope to keep losing weight 🙂

Leave a Reply

