Crochet?

OK, I have to admit that I’m intrigued by the art of crochet!  Karen’s crochaliser and all the amigurumi that keeps popping up has piqued my interest.

But, the biggest draw right now is the portability of it, and the size of the projects.  You don’t need to haul half a sweater around, just enough for a few granny squares or a little critter.  It’s the sort of thing that can sit in a pouch in my handbag quite happily and not need it’s own tote.

So I’ve been pondering learning and I was wondering if you guys have any recommendations on books, You Tube videos or any other advice.  Like which yarns to use or avoid.  Or should I go for wood, plastic or metal hooks.  Or good first projects…

Thank you for any help you can offer!

13 thoughts on “Crochet?

  1. Portability is why I’ve returned to cross stitching. Hubby wouldn’t let me bring my sewing machine on vacation. 🙂
    I started knitting and got great advice from a knitting shop locally. And books/DVDs from the library. I didn’t stick with it but I know I always have a resource and in person is so helpful.

    1. Oh, to take my machine with me! Hubby would have a fit though… I’ve reserved some books at the library, but there’s a short wait for them as they’re all out on loan at the moment (I’m late to the party as always!). Plus the crochet blogs seem to be as helpful and friendly as the sewing ones. My poor feed reader!

  2. I haven’t done crochet in years, but I would recommend wood or metal hooks – not plastic. YouTube has a lot of great tutorials, I find the knitting ones to be quite helpful and I assume the same would go for crochet.

    1. Thanks Annabelle! Metal seems to be the most recommended so that’s what I’ve gone for… The crochet ones I’ve looked at so far are very good. But then I haven’t looked beyond single and double stitch (is that right?!)

  3. I know everything there is to know about sewing but no nothing about crocheting or knitting. I hope someone comments with a good suggestion because if not, it’s going to be me and You Tube 🙂

  4. I have only taken sewing courses on Craftsy, but I know they have a course specific to amigurumi that claims it is good for beginners. I have been enjoying the online courses and I have seen some great projects come out of Gertie’s bombshell dress class on the blogosphere.

    I tried to take up knitting both for the portability of it and the sociability (sitting next to my husband on the couch versus spreading out over a whole room), but it’s just not taking.

  5. Welcome to the crochet world! I would recommend starting off with using an H-hook and sport weight or worsted weight yarn. That way you’ll see the stitches better. There’s lots of videos on YouTube on how to crochet the different stitches. The visuals might help better than following or reading the instructions. I would also suggest making granny squares and dishcloths as first projects, to practise the stitches. And both of those are great portage projects. Have fun!

    1. Thank you! I have to admit that my ambitions don’t lie much beyond granny squares, dishcloths and flannels at the moment…

      I’ll have to investigate an H-hook!

Leave a Reply

