Just a Short Hello

I really hope I can get some of the posts I have planned, including my first ever dress up over the long weekend we have here in the UK for the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee.

Unfortunately my sister has been diagnosed with a mental illness and was prescribed Diazepam (also known as Valium) on Thursday night and is been looked after by the mental health crisis team and will soon be starting with a therapist.  She’s at home and is physically well, just incredibly vulnerable and fragile mentally.  It’s a long and winding story as to how she got to this point and its not something that I can share as its very personal to her.

It’s taking a lot of my strength to be strong for her and support her fiancé whilst my parents come to terms with this.  To be honest I’m still coming to terms with it.  I’m fine, and she will be fine.  She’s recognised that there’s a problem and she’s taken the first steps to getting back to where she wants to be.

Once again, sewing and the creative outlet is giving me some time to ‘just be’ and for my brain to stop actively processing and let my subconscious deal with it all.

Thank you for letting me vocalise this and get it out there, as that helps me enormously!  As I mentioned, I have three finished items that go into one outfit I want to share with you, plans and plottings for future projects and hopefully I’ll have another finished item this time next week.  I better as I’ll need it for Sunday 10 June!

I hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend and I can’t wait to read your blogs and see what you’re all doing.  Hopefully I’ll have some sewing related posts very soon!  Vx

10 thoughts on “Just a Short Hello

  1. Awww – Love and hugs! It’s not easy, I’m sure. Several of my loved ones have really benefited from therapy and medication, whether long or short term. One doctor described both as ways to give the person breathing room to develop coping strategies, instead of frantically treading water. Once strategies are in place and positive mental pathways have been built, those support may or may not be needed any more. It’s a tough road, but I think getting help is a good start!
    Hope that helps… don’t forget to take a little bit of time for yourself! You deserve it too.
    All the best!

  2. I know from personal experience how difficult it can be both to support a loved one just starting the journey towards better mental health and to be on that journey too. Take care of yourself as much as you can while taking care for your sister, her fiance and your family. It isn’t easy, but it is definitely worth it. Thinking of you…..

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your rough week. You and your family will be in my thoughts and prayers! That’s such a difficult thing to deal with– unfortunately, I’ve witnessed mental illness in my family, too– but I hope you’re able to take care of yourself and deal with your own emotions as you’re supporting your sister and the rest of the family. Best wishes!

  4. Good for you in supporting your sister and being open and honest about mental illness. No one is ashamed when they suffer physical illnesses and there is so much help available.
    The biggest thing to remember is that your job is not to heal or cure your sister. Leave that to her doctor. Just be there for her and listen when she wants to talk.
    Send me a private message if you ever feel that you need to unload. I’ve got some experience with this stuff. 🙂

  5. Aw, I’m so sorry that your family is going thru so much, but glad that she is seeking help and all are supporting it. I’m also glad that you are seeing your creative acts as a comfort.We’ll be here waiting when you’re ready to show off!

  6. Thanks for sharing. I’ve been through potentially similar experiences but with good friends, not family. Take care of yourself and keep supporting your sister in every way you can. We’ll all be thinking of you.

  7. I’m so sorry to hear of your recent trials. I know from experience how tough it is learning to support a loved one with a mental illness. It’s definitely a journey, that’s for sure… but I know your support will help your sister greatly 🙂 Much love XO

Leave a Reply

