Simplicity 1880: Ding Ding Round Two

You know what they say about horses?  That if you get thrown, you have to get right back on again?  Well, I’ve started again on Simplicity 1880 but the wrap dress version (view B).

I’ve FBA’d the bodice front using Queen of the Flies method which is basically a straight forward FBA and then rotating the bust dart into the gathers at the yoke
I’ve made my usual adjustment for my broad back on both the back and yoke pieces
I’ve turned the front and back yoke into one piece
I’ve traced and altered the front skirt piece to match the adjusted bodice (including offering the paper pattern up to each other to see if it looks right, which it does)

I plan on doing a lapped zipper rather than use an invisible one which is also the insertion method I’ll eventually use on the shirt dress.  I’m going for the cap sleeves this time and will use french seams as much as possible.  I’ll also be using self bias binding as Sunni suggested rather than the facings (but go my own way as Sunni’s tutorial creates a lot of layers! – I’ll probably channel Sewaholic’s method) possibly with elastic if I can make it work to prevent boob over exposure by snugging up the neckline.  I can’t explain it, but I’ll photograph what I do if you’re interested?

This is the fabric I’m using

Having written a list (I loooove lists, particularly ones that break down garment construction, but oh the joy of crossing stuff off!  And I know I’m not the only one…) the construction of view B is a lot less involved than the shirt dress, so I’m hopeful that I’ll have an easier run this time.

So, I’m ready for round three, in which I find out if the paper alterations will work in fabric!

12 thoughts on “Simplicity 1880: Ding Ding Round Two

    1. Ooh, the fabric! It’s a cotton (I think) satin with big butterflys printed on it – they’re water colour style. I’ll dig out a pic and update the post…

    2. I hope so! I’ve cut the fabric so there’s no going back… I’m really hoping this works as I need a summer dress (even though here in the UK it’s constantly raining!)

      1. Love this fabric…is it current? Where from? I’m having complete fabric envy.

      2. I could definitely use 2 yards! 🙂 Happy dance! It’s absolutely gorgeous. Shall I email my deets and PayPal you for the yardage?

  1. Pingback: Pendle Stitches

Leave a Reply

