A Little Progress and A Lot of Thought

Hello.  Sorry for the long silence!  As I mentioned, we went on holiday to Dorset and had a wonderful time.  We played with diggers at Diggerland, saw the Red Arrows at Swanage, road on steam trains and of course went to see some Olympic sailing.

We got home a fortnight ago today and it’s be crazy ever since!  We had the usual post holiday crazy of tons of washing and settling back into normal life.  I even got some shopping done for V2903 which was a lovely way for me to spend a day on my own.  The teal colour won out, but I’ve gone for a slightly different fabric…  I got my flat pattern alterations done too and even the fabric cut for the toile.  I also went to help my sister choose a wedding dress and then Mum and Dad came the Saturday evening after we’d got home.

Long and short of it is that my Dad had his left testicle removed on Thursday as the medical profession suspects malignant testicular cancer.  Today he’s having his full body MRI scan to see if that’s it or whether there’s anything else.  Next week we get the full diagnosis which could be ‘that’s it, we’ve removed it, nothing more to worry about’ or could be the complete opposite.  So a lot of waiting at the moment.

And to compound it, my sister started her counselling (finally!) and has been officially diagnose with anorexia on top of the stress and depression.  And the straw that near as broke me was that she’s been self harming as a way to cope before the stress and depression diagnosis.  She hadn’t told anyone as she was trying to protect us.  She has promised me that she isn’t doing it anymore though as she wants to be a good Aunty to Boy.

So, quite honestly this has been the most horrific couple of weeks, hence why blogging and sewing have taken a back seat.  I just haven’t had the mental energy.

Which also means that I am somewhat behind on where I planned to be on the dress.  And that my documentation of the process is not as thorough as I’d like.  But on the positive side all that you’ve missed out on is my construction of the toile and a few fitting tweaks.

This evening, I intend to cut my fabrics and baste them all together.  I hope to actually start construction tomorrow.  I’ll do a post on the fabric I’m actually using and a brief run down on my fitting changes very soon (i.e., later today!).

There is progress for my family members, and a lot to be thankful for.  Now I need to do things to look after myself – as sewing is my ‘therapy’ I hope to start making again.

17 thoughts on “A Little Progress and A Lot of Thought

  1. “Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans.”
    Sometimes things just happen. Glad to hear that your sister and dad are getting the help they need. And you do need to manage your own stress. You are very self-aware.
    Looking forward to seeing your project when you get to it!

    1. Aint it just! My project is my sanity saver – I go into a zone where I’m not really processing anything other than what I’m doing. It’s a bit of mental stillness, whilst still being mentally active, if you see what I mean?!

  2. Glad to hear that your sister is getting the help and support she needs. Hoping that your Dad’s prognosis is a good one. Relieved that you’re looking after yourself too. It’s easy to drop that ball. You’re all in our prayers.

  3. So sorry to hear of your troubles but glad that your sister and dad are getting help and keeping my fingers crossed that your dad’s prognosis is a good one. Take care

  4. Tough times. I think you need a little time out for yourself even if it is a few minutes here and there. I find it’s the best way to escape some days. Hope there is some sunshine around the corner x

  5. Oh, girl, what a rough few weeks you’ve had! I’m so very sorry. Thinking of you guys and praying for you! And I’m hoping you get good news from the doctors and that you all get a little down time to relax and unwind (and whatever else you need).

    Sidenote: Diggerland sounds really fun!!

Leave a Reply

