Just A Little Bit Pleased With Myself

I just fully lined a dress.  Well, I fully lined a dress last night, but it was really really dark at 10:00pm so I couldn’t do photos until today!

I made the dress its self from a Prince of Wales check wool with a slight green element to it.  The lining is another dress made from (da dum!) lining fabric!

I applied a few tutorials in doing this – none of them specifically for fully lining a dress, but each with information that helped me suss it out on my own!

First up is the invisible zipper tutorial I have had the best results with from Pattern Scissors Cloth (I do use an invisible zipper foot though!).  It’s unusual in that it tells you to sew the seam below the zip before you insert it and it works, it really really works.

Then I stitched the lining to the zip tape a la the Colette Sewing Handbook.

I attached the neck of the dress and lining together using this Pattern Scissors Cloth invisible zip facing tutorial, which is the exact (or very similar) method Tasia uses for her Crescent skirt.

Finally, I attached the lining to the sleeves using Tasia’s tutorial from her Minoru Jacket Sewalong.  I cut the lining 1/4″ shorter than the sleeve and used a 3/8″ seam allowance so that the lining didn’t go right to the edge of the sleeve, when the sleeve’s seam allowance of 5/8″ was pressed back.

As I don’t have any green thread for my serger, the insides are all finished with bright blue thread!  To stop this being quite so glaring should anyone catch a glimpse of my skirt lining, I mock flat-felled the seams on the skirt lining.

As I said, pretty pleased with myself – it looks pretty inside and out!  Just the hemming to go…

And don’t forget the Sew Very Merry Christmas Fabric Swap – signup is open for just under another two weeks!

33 thoughts on “Just A Little Bit Pleased With Myself

    1. Thank you! Hopefully now that I’ve sewn the hem (love circle skirts, hate the length of the hem when it comes to hemming time) I can do some photos soon… I may have to get brave and take advantage of light at lunch time, although I suspect it’ll more likely be the weekend!

    1. I suppose it is two dresses, but this has turned into a bit of a TNT pattern for me, so the lining was the third ‘version’ I’d sewn and I didn’t have to look at the instructions to make it, so it didn’t seem too bad (other than lining fabric fraying like nothing on earth!). I’ve got some cotton dresses planned though and I suspect that I’ll only be lining the skirt, just to avoid that tights sticking annoyance. Thanks for the compliment on the fabric, I wasn’t initially sure, but love the end result!

    1. Yay! Thank you! It’s now been hemmed so I’ll hopefully be able to do some pictures soon… Rachel at House of Pinheiro is thinking of doing a post on self portrait photography too which would be awesome as photos of me isn’t my favourite thing! But there will be photos and soon – may have to wait for the weekend though so there’s some light as it’s pitch black now before I even leave work in the evening.

    1. Thank you Lynne! I wasn’t sure about green for the lining to begin with but my local fabric store suggested it. I really like the contrast and that a work appropriate dress has some ‘undercover’ colour!

      1. Better than a self preservation one! Got to love sewing bloggers – inspiration and support everywhere and I’ve yet to find an unfriendly one!

    1. I do. It took a little longer than normal, but it was worth spending the time on. Both for the finished result and how much I love it, as well as the head space it provided. Thanks for being so amazing Annabelle!

      1. You do get to a stage with sewing, I think, where you realise that you realise that “fast and dirty” isn’t where you’re at any more and you get real please from constructing something that is really quite lovely. Like this dress.

  1. I am so very impressed!! It’s a big deal to do something like this without pattern instructions (at least for me LOL) You did a fantastic job! I love the fabric choices as well; your plaid placement is so cute, and the green lining is very sassy! Lovely job on the finishing too, you really went the extra mile ^__^

    1. Aww, thank you! It didn’t take too long once I’d worked it out in my head and I’m really pleased with the result. I’ve got a system now and because I worked it out myself I may actually remember it!
      sent from my overzealous spell checking phone… please excuse brevity and typos.

Leave a Reply

