Colette Peony; Working 9 til 5

I do love Dolly, the hair, the rhinestones, the songs…  And apologies if that turns into an ear worm!!

OK, next up is my wool Peony.  These are all photos of before it was reverse sewed and re-engineered to fix some fit and construction muck ups.

IMG_6373

As you can see there is some weird stuff happening with the bust darts and bubbling.  That’s my fault and not the patterns – I can safely say that they are the worst darts I have ever sewn.  I swear they look an inch longer than they actually are because of that damn bubble!

IMG_6377

And I managed to make it about 4″ too big at the waist.  I do NOT know how that happened as the toile fit fine and I carefully transferred the changes back to the pattern.  All I can imagine is that when I pinned the back closed on the toile I pinned it tighter than when I put the zip in.  I’ve lost a bit of weight but not that flippin much.  Ah well, cock pit error and I’ll have to do some fixing.

IMG_6378
Pulling some of the excess out at the back

So, re-works.  I’m going to unpick the waist seam at the darts and re-do them as well as making them deeper to sort the fit at the waist out a bit.  I’m hoping to solve the bagginess and bubbling with that one.  I’ll then put some gathers into the skirt as drafted, or I may add darts as I quite like the sleekness of it at the moment.  I’ll baste some darts in and see what I think and then make a decision as to whether it’ll be that solution or the gathers.

I’ll take some photos once I’ve tweaked.  I do have to admit though that the sloppy fit around the waist  and the bubbly darts haven’t stopped me wearing this dress though.  I just love the colours.  And look a pretty hem with snug-hug and hand stitching.  I added a full lining the same colour as the stripe in the wool.  Something about this combination of chocolate and pale blue just makes me happy.

IMG_6387

So whilst it’s not perfect, it has some potential with a bit more work and reverse sewing…

23 thoughts on “Colette Peony; Working 9 til 5

  1. Nice dress! I adore chocolate with colours, it just ‘works’. And I love all your funky linings, I should take a leaf outta your book and try that myself old conservative self!

  2. Good to know I’m not the only one with fitting issues and transferring pattern changes LOL. I love the colour combination… love things that look as good on the inside as they do on the outside.

  3. I think the dress looks great! The peekaboo lining is super cute, you’ll have to be flashing under your shirt every time you wear this to give people the full effect 😉

  4. Re: excess waist ease… I’ve done the same exact thing! The muslin fit perfectly, but the actual garment was way loose, but only in the waist! Crazy. But I love this on you, and I really like the hem binding and lining details. Little things like that make dresses feel so special!

    1. They do make something a bit special, the little details, don’t they! All I can think is the wool is stretchier than the cotton? I have no idea really – weird cosmic sewing forces I guess!

    1. Even if I do say so myself, the tweaks were definitely worth the effort! I’m wearing it now and I’m much more in love with it now the fitting issues are sorted!

  5. Superb blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring
    writers? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advise starting with a free platform like
    Wordpress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused ..

    Any suggestions? Cheers!

Leave a Reply

