Me Made May ’13: Pledge Time!

mmay13

I’m in! Just a little note of explanation too as I’m aware that this may be a new concept to a few of my lovely readers. Zoe, who blogs at So Zo hosts a challenge each year to encourage us to wear the clothes that we make.

People make a pledge to wear a self made item each day, or three times a week, or whatever works for them. Some are not allowing themselves to repeat an item, others are not allowed to repeat an outfit. It’s about developing your relationship with the items you make and actually wearing them! This is only my second year in taking part, so;

I, Vicki of VickiKateMakes, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’13. I endeavour to wear one me-made item each day for the duration of May 2013.

As Zoe explains: “Me-Made-May ’13 (MMM’13 for short) is a challenge designed o encourage people who sew / knit / crochet / refashion / up-cycle / insert-other-creative-discipline-here garments for themselves to actually wear and love them. The participants decide the specifics of their own challenge pledge so that the month is appropriate and challenging for them” This is Zoe’s post all about it, and you can sign up there as well!

I’m not going to bore you with daily outfit photographs, instead I’ll do a round up each week. I’ll try and post on a Wednesday but that could prove interesting for the last week as we’ll be away and I have no idea what the interwebs connection will be like. So you may get ten days worth in early June once I’ve got home to my computer! But on the plus side there will be photos featuring a caravan, Legoland, Windsor Castle and where ever else we visit!

From last year I learnt that the hardest aspect of this challenge for me is the documentation of what I wear. I’m not exactly comfortable in front of the camera. But, this year I WILL take a photo Every. Single. Day. I’ll try and vary the setting, but the front door may feature heavily, or the building site in the back garden! Does anyone have any tips for self portraits? How to feel less like a dork or poses to try?!

10 thoughts on “Me Made May ’13: Pledge Time!

  1. I’m not a big camera fan. Try just wandering around, after all I don’t think it’s just about the clothes but living in them. So ‘posed’ pictures are not necessary & you don’t need to look at the camera either. It’s just capturing you ‘living’ in the clothes 🙂

    1. Not looking at the ruddy thing will probably help! I want to try and make it interesting for you guys and also try and feel less of an eejit when doing photographs as I hope it’ll make the blog a prettier place!

  2. Looking forward to seeing your outfits! I’m afraid I can’t offer any advice re photo taking as I hate it as well. I’m not sure what I’m more worried about, not having enough me-mades for every day of the week or trying to take photos! Do you have a remote control for your camera? I was thinking that might help a bit, at least be a bit easier than a 10 second timer or whatever!

  3. Yep, I do have a remote and it does make things a million times easier! I’m definitely more worried about the photos than the clothes, but everything’ll be OK. You all might have to put up with some rubbish photos though!

  4. I’m so excited to see your outfits, especially when you’re on vacation! Is your camera remote easy to use? I don’t have one, but I feel like I should get one (and a tripod) so I don’t have to beg hubs to take photos for me.

    1. Yes, I always have to ask my mom to help me out. Not sure what your mom is like, but I can tell you, she ISN’T and WON’T EVER be a photographer. Lol. Probably takes twice as long than setting up and using the remote function.

Leave a Reply

