Sewaholic Cambie

Nearly two months after finishing this dress, I’m finally posting about it! I made this dress for our friends’ wedding on the 22nd March; the colour theme was purple and orange and I wanted to pick that up in what I wore on the day.

Cambie 1

The fabric is Amy Butler ‘Souvenir’ from the Lark collection. I’m not really sure what colour it is; in some light it’s orange, others a hot pink, and sometimes a deep coral.  Some have even told me it’s red!  I love the richness and warmth of the colour, whatever it is.

There’s not a lot to say about the Cambie pattern or the construction really. As always with Tasia’s patterns the drafting is faultless and the instructions good. I had no problems making this dress at all. I’m particularly pleased with how neatly the zip went in; there was bragging on Instagram and Twitter when I’d completed that step I have to admit.

Cambie 2

I didn’t make any changes to the pattern other than my usual FBA and using the full width of the fabric for the skirt panels, which definitely made for a fuller skirt! I love that putting a petticoat on with this dress gives it some added impact, but that it’s also great to wear without the extra oomph as a day dress (which is how I wore it for my sister’s hen do in Cambridge).

I have other versions of this dress planned already although I may lessen the amount of fabric in the skirt for that one…

Cambie 3

Fabric: Amy Butler ‘Souvenir’ from the Lark Collection
Lining: Bed sheet for the bodice and dress lining from Anglian Fashion Fabrics for the skirt
Thread & Zip: Jaycotts

PS: There’s still a few hours to enter my give away here!

45 thoughts on “Sewaholic Cambie

  1. Hola me gusta mucho tu vestido una pregunta, si puedes entenderme yo abitualmente uso una 48-20 o 22 pero Tasia tiene solo la 16 tu tienes que modificar mucho para que te valgan sus patrones, es que me parecen muy bonitos pero no se cuanto tengo que modificar
    Te queda genial el vestido

    1. Hello
      I use a size 12 or 14 in Tasia’s patterns and then do a full bust adjustment. I choose my size using my high bust measurement which is 38″. I hope that helps a little?

    1. There will be more! I may swap out the gathers for something like the Lonsdale skirt though. I’m not sure gathers at the waist are entirely flattering on me!

  2. Vicki, this dress looks awesome on you. The colour is lovely and you really nailed the fit! I bet this becomes a go to dress this summer – well done!

  3. lovely make! I think the neckline and faux sleeves are really flattering on you. It seems like there is a good combination of you being more comfortable in front of the camera and being really comfortable in this dress!!

  4. I’ve been meaning to comment on this for DAYS, sorry honey. Naturally enough I love it, but I get where you’re coming from on the gathers. I bet you’ll love the a-line version though!

    1. Thanks Roisin. I like the gathers but think I may have over done it. Lining with gathers probably doesn’t help either… Less gathers and an A-line lining next time… And an A-line version too!

  5. This frock has my name written all over it. And, now that I have seen it on you I don’t have to feel “some kind of way” that it is not appropriate for a gal my size. Crinoline has been on my mind of late too (especially as a vintage-style sewing enthusiast). Your petticoat looks nice.

    Thank you for this blog post and share.

    Cheers,

    Lyric
    http://www.sewlyricallyvintage.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

