Me Made May; Week 4 & 5

I made it!  I did it!  I wore one me made item each day of the month!  I very very nearly made it with the photography too, but that all went to pot in the last week…

MMMay week 5

I know I took photos on the 22nd, 23rd and 24th but they seem to have disappeared off my phone / camera / SLR.  I use three different cameras and I can’t find these photos on any of them but I do remember taking them!  None of it was new though, it’s all stuff already blogged this month, or blogged before; namely Jasmine, my dressing gown (I felt ill that day), and my Alma.  Then we were off for a week away in Chertsey.

This is my finished the day before we went V1247 top using a lawn bought from fabric land.  This was a great top for travelling (on the 25th) and then also wandering around Windsor Great Park (the 26th), which is where the picture is from.  On the Bank Holiday Monday (27th) we had a tourist day in London and flew on the Eye and did a river boat cruise as well as a wander around Trafalgar Square and Horse Guards Parade.  I wore my Blue Roses dress.

I failed to get a picture on the 28th – it was raining heavily and we spent most of the day at a swimming pool (which had a pirate ship and a volcano in it!  Boy went insane with excitement!), but on dry land I wore my Sencha as my me made item.

The 29th was a trip to Windsor Castle.  Whilst photos were taken of Boy and Husband I didn’t get any of me, so you’ll have to take my word for it that I was wearing my V1247 skirt!  The 30th was a quiet day as we knew what we had planned for Boy on the Friday.  We went to a science discovery centre which was great fun for all of us and my Mathilde was worn yet again!

Friday 31st May was the last day and we went to Legoland!  Boy had a brilliant day as did we.  We only managed a tiny amount of the park and I can’t recommend the Q-Bots enough.  Expensive but saves long ques with a small person.  I loved the Atlantis ride and just watching Boy trying to take it all in – we’ll definitely go back but spend two days there so we can see more of the park and do more of the rides.  It’ll be the last ‘term time’ holiday we’ll be able to take as Boy will start school in September 2014…  Anyway, a constant but un documented staple of my wardrobe was worn – my Sewaholic Minoru.

Reflections:

Like many other participants I was totally done with the self portraits by the end of the month!  However I have also realised that I need some more casual bottom half stuff in my life and maybe a few more causal dresses.  I’m looking forward to receiving my Hummingbird pattern from Cake Patterns as I want to make a denim skirt and this pattern looks like it’ll be perfect, and I hope Washi will become a casual summer staple dress.

I’ve also realised that I thought I was a trousers kinda girl but I’m actually much happier in a skirt or dress – don’t get me wrong, trousers are a necessity some of the time and one day I’ll be brave enough to tackle some jeans or Thurlow style trousers.  At the moment though my RTW jeans will be worn until they are not fit for wearing (which may be sooner than I like…).

It’s become apparent too that I love getting changed at the end of the day into something, comfy isn’t the right word, but something I can lounge on the sofa in and generally unwind in.  So I plan on making some more PJ bottoms as I only have one pair at the moment (the other pair got binned at the hospital back in October; I just didn’t want to bring any of the clothes I’d been wearing home).  I’m trying to justify the Tofino pattern as we type but I have a perfectly good PJ pattern as it is that could be adapted to have the contrast panel on the leg if I can be bothered.  I bet I end up just buying the pattern…

So, Me Made isn’t too hard to do now, self portrait photography is fun to begin with and them just becomes a chore by the end of the month.  I repeat a lot of the items I wear (but I knew that anyway) and I definitely need more ‘lounge’ wear and a few more casual separates.  I’ve enjoyed taking part and I’ve enjoyed reading other people’s take on it too.  I haven’t been near the Flickr side of things as quite frankly there are only so many hours in the day.  I’ll take part again next year too, but will probably only document via Instagram which will be easier for me and save those of you who aren’t interested reading a month of posts about stuff you’ve already seen!  I’ll still inflict a summary on you though.

So thank you Zoe for the inspiration and challenge.  It’s helped shape some of my sewing going forward.

10 thoughts on “Me Made May; Week 4 & 5

  1. What a good summary Vicki. I feel exactly the same way – though I didn’t even bother taking any photos to begin with! Changing into homewear/loungewear at the end of the day is a much undervalued clothing need I think – it was one of my main MMM realisations too!

  2. well done. i love that lawn you used for your top – must see if they have in my local fabricland as the colours are lovely! i’ve also been thinking of some specific loungewear for the evenings (ok, pyjamas really!). not sure if i can justify the cost on an expensive indie pattern for it tho and the sewaholic sizes are miles away from me – i think i have something like 4 sizes difference between waist and hips (in the wrong way for her size charts!)

  3. Sounds like we had similar experiences with MMM. I wore things on repeat. I have some great dresses and not enough lounge wear.
    And photos become a pain.
    You did a similar London trip to mine. Wish they had been at the same time!
    Congrats on being done!

  4. It always surprises me how much we don’t know about ourselves and what we actually wear and like to wear. I discovered exactly the same thing – religiously photoed at the beginning and then it just seemed like too much bother. I agree about the lounging about the house clothes too.

  5. You know what I love most about this challenge? That it makes seamstresses evaluate their closet- what they have, what they don’t have, and what they need more of.

  6. Hi, new follower here. I just happened across your blog. I’m hoping there’ll be a “Me Made May” next year, as I totally missed it this year. 😦 Great photos! 🙂
    ~Jen

Leave a Reply

