Burda Style 8/2012

The August issue of Burda Style dropped through the letter box this morning, and I have to say there are some patterns in this issue that I love!

Look at the cover!  I looked at this and just went WOW! The yellow outfit, that I thought was a dress, is actually a skirt and top!  It’s separate potential is beautifully illustrated by this image:

I love the addition of a lace collar, paired with the dark floral straight skirt.  I love this classic style with a twist/edge.

There’s lots of work suitable items too!  I love this skirt with the godet in the front

And this blouse with the tie at the back is a lovely twist on a shell top

And this flowing top from the plus size section is a lovely classic piece

And isn’t this top and trouser combo just fabulous?!  I love the graphic orange print with the nautical twist on the wide legged trousers.

Even the kids section has (finally!) got some decent patterns for boys in it!  Two good solid shirt patterns and a nice slim fitting style trouser.  There’s even a jacket/cardigan thing.  For once it’s about a 50/50 split between the boys and girls!  And the boy’s pieces are classics, so whilst patterns for the boys may not come along too often, at least these can be used for a few years!

So, that’s at least 6 patterns I like just for me, with the bonus of three that I can see myself making for boy!

And I’m also featured on Elena’s Seamless Blog today!  Happy Happy!

14 thoughts on “Burda Style 8/2012

  1. oh, that looks like a good one! I like the idea of doing the skirt and top in matching fabric so it looks like a dress, just maybe not in yellow?

  2. I don’t like the yellow ‘dress’ on the cover (which is odd as I love yellow) but I really loved the same pattern with the black top and patterned skirt. Looks a bit more classic, the yellow look trendy – which I’m clearly not LOL.

    1. Aw, thanks sweetie! I’ve got this weird idea of doing it in a plaid with the peplum on the bias. The two patterns are great for work though so will probably wind up in my Autumn/Winter sewing! I really must crack on with my dress for Brother in Law’s wedding soon though… Usual problem of so many things to make, so little time!

      1. Ooh, I love the idea of the plaid on the bias! I hear ya– so many ideas and never enough time! I’m so excited to see what you come up with for the wedding!

Leave a comment